Apply Now For a Nanny

Part Time Nanny/Family Assistant Austin, Texas

Part Time
Austin, Texas 78729

Austin Texas family seeking a part-time Nanny & Family Assistant, with guaranteed hours but a flexible schedule.

Guaranteed 20 hours a week, with flexibility to ramp up to 40 hours as needed.

Friendly couple is looking for someone to help share the workload of balancing a household, childcare and their two demanding careers.  Both parents work from home full-time, and their 2.5 yr old girl is in Montessori school most weekdays year-round.  However, she is still building her immune system and has been home sick from school every few weeks.  They are looking for someone to spend 20 hours a week helping with household tasks while the child is in school, but switch to full-time Nanny on the days that the child is home sick, or the school is closed for a holiday.

They truly value the Nanny/Family Assistant position as a professional caregiver and collaborative teammate—not a babysitter. The ideal candidate for this role will be upbeat, engaging, nurturing, and a strong communicator. They are hoping to establish a long-term working relationship with someone who can grow with their family and expand their role as family needs evolve!  Essentially, becoming part of the family!

SCHEDULE

Guaranteed 20 hours a week, with flexibility to ramp up to 40 hours as needed.

They are seeking a candidate that is flexible in schedule. 

  • Most weeks they will require ~20 hours per week for family assistant tasks.  This could be spread across the week, on various weekdays.
  • On days where the child is not in school (due to illness, school closings, etc), they would need someone to act as a Nanny from 8am – 5pm on weekdays.  Illnesses come on abruptly, so they would need someone with a flexible schedule that can be “on-call” and ramp up to 40 hours in a week, fairly last-minute.
  • Ad hoc needs for date nights, or evenings when one parent is traveling

RESPONSIBILITIES

  • Care for 2.5 yr old toddler (when needed).  Feeding, dressing, playing, helping with potty, naps, etc.
  • Feed dog and let out to backyard to relieve itself 3x a day.  No dog walking or other care needed.
  • Errands (dry cleaners, Amazon returns, stores, etc)
  • Manage external vendors (lawn-care, gardener, pool guy, handyman, plumbers, electricians, etc)
  • Laundry for child
  • Food prep for child
  • Dishes (we have dishwasher)
  • Organizing
  • Light cleaning
  • Grocery shopping
  • Online Tasks (online shopping, processing returns, selling items online, research, etc). Laptop can be provided

ABOUT THE HOUSEHOLD

Location: Northwest Austin, near Anderson Mill & Cedar Park Area. 2 story house. large yard, swimming pool (with fence around it). EXTREMELY friendly and walkable neighborhood.

Both parents work full time, from home.  Child is an easy-going 27 mo old girl, that’s sleep trained for naps and bedtime and almost potty trained.  She’s very bright, aware and determined. Very verbal, and great at communicating what she wants.  They practice Montessori style learning at home and have limited screen time.  The dog is a 9 yr old boxer (65lbs).  She is a sweet dog and sleeps 90% of the time.

CANDIDATE REQUIREMENTS

  • Local to Austin Area 
  • Someone that is patient, caring and has empathy, especially when caring for a sick child.
  • At least 2 years experience caring for toddlers
  • Legally eligible to work in the United States
  • Fluent in English
  • Has valid driver’s license, reliable transportation and a clean driving record
  • Must be willing to comply with parents’ child-rearing preferences and discuss differences of opinions 
  • Must be okay with parents working from within the home
  • Must be okay with dogs
  • Punctual, reliable, responsible
  • Detail-oriented, motivated, self-starter and follows directions well.
  • Tech-savvy
  • Knows when to ask for clarifying questions on a task vs just figuring it out and getting it done
  • Willing to go through background check
  • Willing to take home Covid test during covid spikes (tests provided by family)
  • Willing to show proof of immunizations
  • CPR/First Aid Certified (or willing to get certified before hire)
  • Non-Smoker
  • Stellar references and letters of recommendation
  • Ability to make a one-year commitment. We will only consider candidates who are looking at this position as a long-term commitment!

BONUS POINTS IF THE CANDIDATE HAS THE FOLLOWING:

  • Competent swimmer (for pool time with child)
  • Able to travel with the family domestically 
  • Passport ready and able to travel with the family internationally
  • Montessori experience
  • Bilingual (Mandarin, Spanish, etc)
  • Infant care experience (just in case another comes along)

COMPENSATION & BENEFITS

  • Pay: $20-$30 per hour, based on experience
  • Paid vacation days
  • Paid sick days/personal days
  • Paid holidays
  • Monthly (tax-free) Health insurance/wellness stipend

Required Qualifications

Candidates must be at least 21 years old.
Related work experience is required along with verifiable references. Candidates may have a broad range of experience, but it MUST pertain to the position you are applying for. We require at least 2-3 verifiable references. Letters of recommendation from previous employers are preferred.
A driver’s license is required for most positions and a motor vehicle investigation is completed prior to placement.
A criminal background investigation is completed on all candidates prior to placement.
All candidates must furnish proof of US citizenship or eligibility to work as a legal alien.
Typically, candidates must be willing to commit for at least 1 year with a family. Occasionally, temporary and summer placements are requested.